Vermicelli Dessert | Kheer

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Eid is coming up and all I’m thinking of is food… In particular,  ‘DESSERTS’

For those of you who don’t know what Eid is: It’s a day where Muslims celebrate the end of a full month of fasting. You might have heard of Ramadan?! If not, then in this month, Muslims fast from dusk to dawn and spend their time in prayer. So when Eid comes in, everyone celebrates by spending time family, eating lots of good food and of course, dressed in their best attire!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Kheer is a common dessert, at least from where I come from. I have never made kheer before, but I have been thinking of making it for a while now and while looking around for an easy recipe, I came across this one and just by looking at how easy it was to make, I got all excited! (Less time in the kitchen, more time eating , right 😉 ?! )… I could have waited for Eid to make it but I wanted to try it out first… Verdict- We loved it! We had it today after breaking our fast and It was delicious, so yummy! I’ll deff make it again for Eid and since the serving is two, I will double the portions so I can share it with friends and family.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

PS: Kheer is similar to rice pudding with a Western twist.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Ingredients:

1/2 ltr Milk
1/3 cup roasted Vermicelli (Seviyan)
1/2 cup Sugar
1/2 tbsp Ghee (Clarified Butter)
Almond Flakes
1/2 tsp Cardamom Powder
1 tbsp Raisins

Method:

– Heat Ghee in a pan and roast the Vermicelli for a couple of minute
– Add the milk, stir it and let it cook for about 7 – 8 Mins till the the milk reduces to half its quantity
– Add sugar, stir and cook it for another 5 – 6 Mins
– Add raisins, almond flakes, cardamom powder and stir everything well.
– The dessert is ready to be served chilled in serving bowls

 

The best part about this recipe is that IT’S SO EASY to make!! I was done in literally like 15mins! (and you know I love those quick and easy recipes)… Let me know if you end up making these and what you thought of it! 

Don’t forget to find me on social media 🙂

Enjoy!

 

Lots of love,

Arzina Xox

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

