Reviving an old Passion

IMG_2365

IMG_2366

IMG_2373

IMG_2376
I look horrible so don’t mind me but a wonderful family friend joined us for Badminton. She is a really good professional Photographer, you must Check her page out on instagram @happyfilmsphotography 

If you have been following me for a while, you might have noticed that I have cut down making desserts and sweet dishes. YES! We are trying to lose weight! By the way, I think it’s true, people tend to gain weight after they get married. I read it on one of Popsugar’s article, or was it Women’s health mag? Don’t quite remember but it is true. My mom always told me that but I never believed her because I thought I would work out even after I got married but WHOA!! Lo and behold I was wrong!

This new married life, may not be a bed full of roses but it deff is a bed full of new restaurants, sleep ins, late night dines and ooh! couch potato movie night!!  (lol I just made myself and my poor husband sound obese!! – Well, we have kinda gained weight and we feel PHAT 😉 )

All my life I’ve always known myself to be very sportsy with racket sports being my strong suite. When I was in high school, I played Soccer, Softball, I was quite a bit of a swimmer but then I started playing Badminton. As I moved on to college and University I was a baddie at Tennis and sometimes, my friends and I would hit the court to play some Racquetball.I’ve always felt comfortable with playing Tennis, Badminton and Racquetball, I would say that those three are my favourite sports.

Anyway, so, after a year’s break and a few pounds later, I decided to start playing Badminton again (hint hint old hobby). I play it every Friday and noticed that the fire inside started lighting up again which would usually wake up the competitive side of me. I started playing to win while others were playing casually. Started enjoying the Friday sessions so much, I wanted more!! So now I go at least 2-3 times a week to play with my husband. Good thing, he is tall so it’s more of a work out for me as he keeps me running around the court. Oh, he does it purposely as he enjoys making me run around the court panting while he stands there laughing -_- Good thing, I don’t mind it as i’m getting a workout!! Soon enough, before he knows it, I am making him run with my favorite drop shots. In the end, it gets competitive but so much fun that we leave the court, laughing and soaked with sweat and that confirms an excellent workout!!

We are looking to play Racquetball and Tennis again especially coz Spring is here and SUMMER IS COMING! Will keep you guys updated.

Always try to find a solution through something you’re passionate about. I could have gone running or hired a personal trainer, instead I decided to revive my passion in Badminton (sports) to help me stay fit while having fun.

What are you passionate about and how does/has it help/helped you?

Lots of love,

Arzina XO

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

