Non-alcoholic Eggnog

Yes yes, I know… It’s not christmas duh! You see, I am all about the christmas vibe… Talk about dressing up in greens and reds, watching christmas movies, going out to christmas events etc etc and that’s where eggnog comes in.. I’ve tried the store bought ones, and they’re yummy but they miss out on that “Homemade feeling”- If ya know what I mean. So today I wanted to try and make it at home…mostly because I wanted to see how it would turn out. What can I say? It’s worth the 5 minutes cooking time…

I’m always running out of ingredients ugh but I managed to use milk+butter instead of cream and worked out just fine. Try this out, let me know what you think πŸ™‚

img_1855

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 whole eggs
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 to 3 ounces chilled dark rum- (I excluded this ingredient because I don’t drink alcohol but if you do, then here you go)
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg, plus more for garnishing
  • 2/3 cup cold heavy cream
  • 2/3 cup cold unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup toasted sweetened coconut

METHOD:

In your blender; crack in two eggs, cover and blend until frothy.

To the eggs, add the three tablespoons of sugar, 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg and two to three ounces of your favorite dark rum and blend.

Remove the center disc out and slowly pour in the heavy cream and coconut milk.

Once combined, pour into 4 glasses, top with a little fresh grated nutmeg and top with toasted coconut.

Enjoy!

 

Let me know if you guys prefer pictures of each step, I would be glad to work on that. Don’t forget to check out my profile on instagram at @chroniclesofanewbride and at follow on twitter @chroniclesbride 

 

With love,

Arzina XO

 

 

 

 

 

Recipe Source: Laurie

Leave a Reply

