Kung Pao Shrimp

We, especially me, crave chinese food every now and then, and by now if you don’t already, then you should know, that  I’m always on a hunt for easy and quick recipes. After a looonngg Sunday or outing and relaxing, the last thing I wanted to think of was cooking dinner. Yes, We could have dined out but I have to cook anyway so that my husband has something for lunch on Monday- you see, we can’t keep buying food from out, we’ll get fat and broke quicker than we already do.

We had a guest coming over that night to chill with us coz we’re cool like that you know..haha JK.. seriously though, we had someone coming over to chill and my husband had to go pick him up, so while he was away, it gave me time to cook this Kung Pao Shrimp that I’ve been eyeing for awhile. (Coz when he’s around, I’m so distracted lol- I like to do my house chores when he’s not around, I can focus better) So anyway yeah, I made this yummy dish- although I made very tiny adjustments, nothing major, it turned out delish! I served it with rice 🙂

img_1846

INGREDIENTS

Kung Pao Shrimp

  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • ¼ cup red bell pepper, diced
  • ¼ cup green bell pepper, diced
  • 12 ounces large shrimp, peeled with the tails off
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

Kung Pao Sauce

  • 3 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce *very important to use low sodium*
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon rice wine vinegar
  • ⅛ teaspoon sesame oil
  • ¼ teaspoon fresh ginger, minced
  • ½ teaspoon sriracha (or more to taste if you like it spicy)
  • chopped peanuts, for serving
  • green onions for garnish, if desired
  • sesame seeds for garnish, if desired (I used black and white sesame seeds)

Method

Kung Pao Sauce

  1. Whisk all of the ingredients together in a small bowl. Set aside.

Kung Pao Shrimp

  1. Heat oil in a large skillet.
  2. Add bell peppers and sauté for 2-3 minutes or until slightly tender. (They will continue to cook with the shrimp and sauce).
  3. Add in shrimp and sauté until cooked through, 3-4 minutes.
  4. Add in garlic and cook for 1 minute.
  5. Pour all of the sauce over the shrimp and bell peppers. Turn the heat down and allow the shrimp to simmer until the sauce is thickened.
  6. Serve with chopped peanuts, green onions and sesame seeds for serving, if desired.

Notes:

  1. The adjustments I made were that I left the shrimp tails on (because I forgot to cut them beforehand -_-
  2. I used regular soy sauce because I did not have the low-sodium one and
  3. I added broccoli to the recipe- which is always a goodie!

 

I hope you enjoy making this dish just as much as you’ll enjoy eating it :). I would love to hear from you so feel free to like, comment and follow me my Instagram page @chroniclesofanewbride and @chroniclesbride

Thank you

With love,

Arzina Xo

 

 

 

 

 

Recipe Source: Kelley

 

Leave a Reply

