Chicken Chimichangas

Ever since I have moved to Canada, I feel like I have not had a proper satisfaction for Mexican Food. Coming from Florida- A place where you find a Mexican restaurant at almost every corner of the street to somewhere where there’s hardly a good restaurant nearby satisfying the exact same craving can be hard especially because I LOVE MEXICAN FOOD.

img_1356

So, last night, I came across a recipe that I thought I could try at home and see how it turns out- now let’s remind myself, I am not a chef more like a fairly new cook. I enjoy cooking and baking and that why I decided to have this blog and share the food I make along with my other adventures as a newly married girl.

img_1357-1

The chicken for this recipe turned out delicious which is the best part, the only let down was the tortillas. I decide to make my own tortillas at home instead of buying them. They were not as soft as I was hoping for. Either way, we still ate the chimichangas because they were delicious. I will be giving the tortillas a second shot because I don’t like giving up when it comes to food.

img_1358

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts, cooked and shredded (3 1/2 cups)
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped yellow onion
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup water or chicken broth
  • 2 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp ground coriander
  • 3 Tbsp salsa (optional)
  • 2 Tbsp sour cream, plus more for topping
  • 1 1/2 cups refried beans, homemade or store bought*
  • 6 burrito size flour tortillas
  • Vegetable oil, for frying
  • 5 oz. shredded Mexican cheese blend (1 1/4 cups)**
  • Guacamole, for serving

Directions

  • Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Once hot add onion and saute until slightly golden and tender, about 4 minutes, adding in garlic during the last 30 seconds of sauteing. Add in tomato sauce, water, chili powder, cumin, paprika, coriander, salsa, and season with salt and pepper to taste. Bring just to a bubble, then reduce heat and simmer, stirring frequently until sauce has thickened and reduced by about half and onions are tender. Stir in sour cream and toss in chicken.
  • Spread 1/4 cup refried beans onto the center of each tortilla, leaving a 2-inch border on the edge of tortilla. Layer with each with 1/2 cup of the chicken mixture and top with 3 Tbsp shredded cheese. Fold the 2-inch ends up and then fold one side over the top and roll. ( My tortillas were smaller than the recommended size and crispier so to make it easy I just folded each side into a roll and fried.)
  • Fill a pot with 1/2-inch vegetable oil and heat over medium-high heat. Once oil is hot (about 350 degrees on a deep fry thermometer), add filled tortillas (you should be able to fit 2 or 3 at a time so work in batches) and fry until golden brown on bottom then using metal tongs, carefully rotate to opposite side and cook until golden brown on opposite side. Remove and drain on paper towels.
  • Serve warm topped with guacamole, diced tomatoes, cilantro, sour cream, salsa or hot sauce.
  • *If using canned, I’d highly recommend stirring in a few tablespoons of water to thin them out. I used homemade but canned works fine too.
  • **I just used half monterey jack and half cheddar but a pre-shredded Mexican blend works fine too.

Enjoy!!

With Love,

Arzina Xo

 

 

Recipe Source: Jackyln

Leave a Reply

