Chocolate Frosted Peanut Butter Bars

If you read the caption of this picture on my Instagram blog, you might have noticed that I made these bars in a hurry!! Let me explain. I am the type that cooks and cleans my dishes simultaneously, and also the type that likes to have something sweet after my meals. I had already decided that I am going to make baked cheesy chicken and potatoes for dinner and Peanut butter bars as my dessert but do it all in a slightly dinner manner. What was different is that I left the dirty pots and pans to pile up while I continue cooking.

Dinner is made and now dessert time (that’s when I usually wash the pots). I check the time, and it was 4:26pm!! I usually pick up my husband at 5:30pm plus or minus.  I still had to clean the kitchen, change my clothes, have the tea ready all before I pick him up. All I thought to myself is if I had enough time to make these yummies..

Well, obviously I went for it and made them in a total RUSH, while they were baking, I took that time to clean up the sink (which by the way, I will never use this tactic again- too much mess!!) By the time I got done it was pretty much 5:30pm and lucky for me that he got off work a little later than 5:30pm so that gave me an extra 5-10 minutes to get ready.

It all worked out well in the end. Anyway, too much blabbering! Recipe below

Chocolate Frosted Peanut Butter Bars

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (10 oz) all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups (6.4 oz) quick oats
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup (8 oz) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/4 cups (9.5 oz) packed light-brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup (5.7 oz) granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup (8.6 oz) creamy peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Frosting

  • 1 cup (8.6 oz) creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup (4 oz) unsalted butter, diced into 1 Tbsp pieces
  • 1/4 cup (26g) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup (2 oz) milk
  • 2 pinches salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 cups (12.8 oz) powdered sugar

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350F/177C degrees. Butter a rimmed 18 by 13-inch cookie sheet. In a mixing bowl whisk together flour, oats, baking soda and salt for 20 seconds. Set aside.
  • In the bowl of an electric stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, blend together butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar until creamy. Mix in eggs one at a time. Blend in 1 cup peanut butter and the vanilla. With mixer set on low speed, slowly add in flour mixture and mix just until combined.
  • Drop cookie dough onto prepared baking sheet. Spray hands with non-stick cooking spray and spread dough into an even layer. Bake in preheated oven 12 – 15 minutes until golden (careful not to over-bake or edges will be dry, don’t wait for it to be golden brown. They should be puffed and beginning to set but still soft).
  • Remove from oven and cool 5 minutes, then dollop remaining 1 cup peanut butter by spoonfuls over top. Let sit 1 minute then spread peanut butter into an even layer to cover top.
  • Melt butter in a medium saucepan. Stir in cocoa, milk and salt and bring mixture just to a boil over medium heat. Remove from heat and whisk in vanilla, then stir in powdered sugar and mix until well combined (if needed you can add 1 Tbsp hot water to thin). Immediately pour over bars and spread into an even layer. Allow frosting to set then cut into squares. Store in an airtight container.

Thanks for stopping by

Arzina xo

Recipe Source: Jacklyn

One thought on “Chocolate Frosted Peanut Butter Bars

Leave a Reply

